Toggle site contrast Toggle Contract

Makaton training for parents and professionals

Makaton is a unique language programme that uses symbols, signs and speech to enable people to communicate. It consists of up to 4 levels of training:

Makaton Level 1

It provides a practical introduction to the Makaton language programme.

It’s for parents, family members, carers and workers who need to use Makaton at home or work. Sessions include:

  • hints and tips for effective signing/symbol use
  • how to start using Makaton in everyday situations at home or work
  • using and applying Makaton to develop the communication skills of others
  • signs and symbols from stages 1 and 2 of the core vocabulary plus some of the additional stage.

There are 2 modules. You must attend both modules.

Dates:

Module 1:
Module 1: Wednesday 15th May 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 1: Wednesday 18th September 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Module 2:
Module 2: Tuesday 21st May 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 2: Tuesday 24th September 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Costs:
£35 for parents, £85 for professionals (includes manuals and technical support if required)

Makaton Level 2

Level 2 builds on the knowledge you gained at level 1. You’ll also learn signs and symbols from stages 3 and 4 of the core vocabulary plus the rest of the additional stage.

You must attend the level 1 training before you can join level 2.

You must also attend both modules.

Dates:
Module 3:
Module 3: Wednesday 13th March 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 3: Wednesday 19th June 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 3: Wednesday 13th November 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Module 4:
Module 4: Tuesday 19th March 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 4: Tuesday 25th June 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 4: Tuesday 19th November 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Costs:
As per level 1 (see above). Or,

SPECIAL OFFER:
book levels 1 and 2 together and get a discount (£60 for parents, £155 for professionals)

Makaton Level 3

Module 5: Wednesday 3rd July 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 6: Tuesday 9th July 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Makaton Level 4

You’ll build on the knowledge you gained from levels 1 to 3. You’ll also refresh your knowledge of the signs and symbols from levels 1, 2 and 3 and learn the signs
and symbols for stages 7 and 8 of the core vocabulary.

Dates:

Module 7: Wednesday 9th October 2024, 9.30 – 13.30
Module 8: Tuesday 15th October 2024, 9.30 – 13.30

Costs: As per level 2 (see above) with the discount option available if you book levels 3 and 4 together.

What you’ll need for Makaton training courses

A computer, laptop, tablet or smartphone with a working camera and microphone and a stable internet connection.

How to book

Call: 01296 838000 option 4
or email buc-tr.cyptherapytraining@nhs.net